If kindness could kill

She’d be dead in a week. There’s this one girl who has been irrationally rude to me, or so I thought, since sophomore year. She was in one of my classes sophomore year and just gave me really dirty looks, even though we had never actually spoken. Since then, I’ve seen her around in the same building, and she’ll be nice to everyone and outrageously mean to me. At first, I was like, whatevs, but it soon got to me. So like a month ago, I decided to be nice to her, no matter how hard it was or how much my pride suffered. And yesterday, she finally said, “Thank you” in a nice way. Progress! Yes we can!

In reporting class, we have a tradition on Fridays of watching Thursday’s news show and giving feedback. It’s actually pretty therapeutic: our broadcast professor gets to suggest things to improve our shows and gets to encourage us. Today, we watched our election coverage (2 half hour shows, what what), which was really fun to watch. I turned in a package on the mayoral race, and it was fun to watch it again. Oh, and also listen to the most pathetic and funny sounding phoner (I was at the supposed Republican party celebration location, and right after I got there, it was pretty depressing and EVERYONE left. There was literally only me and two other people in the entire bar. I had to ramble for a minute and try not to make my situation sound as depressing as it was. Fun times!). Regardless, I’ve been workstudying on our news shows since freshman year, and this year, they have been so much better than before. Snazzy graphics, over the shoulder graphics, it keeps gettin’ better.

I was telling one of my science major friends about all the work we do in the j-school, and she was like, “OMG, future workaholic.” I get the part about doing your best work and striving for excellence in all that you do, but when does that cross into workaholism?

I welcome you to the end of the 2nd to the last real week of fall term classes. I am overworked yet still super excited. I’m leaving tomorrow for home, since our school gives us a week off for Thanksgiving. Then its a week of class, then finals week, then 3 weeks of Christmas break. CAN. NOT. WAIT.

In the meantime, “Just Dance” by Lady Gaga is on repeat as I finish up some work and then jet off to home!

Leave a Reply

